Bugs in Automatic search

Found a bug? Drop a note here... :)
Post Reply
Scope
New user
New user
Posts: 4
Joined: 2005-01-30 21:50

Bugs in Automatic search

Post by Scope » 2005-09-25 20:56

Use exact phrase does not work. If I set-up an automatic search for "CSI" and select "Use exact phrase" and search only the title field, then "CSI Miami" appears in the results.
Also when using several words like a program called "FC Z" then it searches for both words and gives TONS of results.

User avatar
Lars
TVA Team member
TVA Team member
Posts: 98
Joined: 2004-07-22 10:51
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Its not a bug its a feature... ;)

Post by Lars » 2005-10-05 10:17

No, seriously, I can easily undertsand that this feature is misunderstood. The original thought about "Use exact phrase" was not to split the search term on spaces, not to match the whole title. So "CSI" will give you all the CSI's, no matter what you do. I'll rethink this in the next release.

Another thing, the search syntax is far more complex than simple words. But it needs polishing. I'll write a post about it at the next TVA release. But for now, when getting too many hits for FC Z, try this search in combination with "Use exact phrase" or simply include " in the term: "FC Z".

Lch
Manager / Lead Developer
LCHSoft Inc

"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer Simpson

User avatar
Lars
TVA Team member
TVA Team member
Posts: 98
Joined: 2004-07-22 10:51
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

HOWTO is available

Post by Lars » 2006-12-07 10:10

The HOWTO on automatic searches mentioned earlier is available here:

http://www.lchsoft.net/2006/12/06/howto ... c-searches

Have fun!

Lch
Manager / Lead Developer
LCHSoft Inc

"Trying is the first step towards failure" - Homer Simpson

Post Reply